Enquiries | Contact | Search
About Us   Heritage Listed Places   Works to Heritage Places   Conservation Funding   Resources   What's New
Tasmanian Heritage Council | Heritage Tasmania | Historic Heritage Sector | Our Heritage Home | Historic Cultural Heritage Act | National Trust of Australia (Tasmania)

Tasmanian Heritage Council

The Tasmanian Heritage Council came into existence in 1997, following the proclamation of the Historic Cultural Heritage Act 1995. The Council is made up of councillors, representing diverse community and professional interests including property owners, farmers and graziers, conservation interests and areas of expertise such as history, architecture, archaeology, engineering and tourism.

A copy of its Membership Policy is now available to download.

The Heritage Council is a statutory body separate to government responsible for the administration of the Act and the establishment of the Tasmanian Heritage Register.  Its primary task is as a resource management and planning body, focused on heritage conservation issues.  As such, any development on heritage listed places require the approval of the Heritage Council before works can commence.

Click on the names listed below to access a brief profile on each.

Council Members

Ms Brett Torossi Chairperson
Ms Michele Moseley Alternate to the Director National Parks and Wildlife (South)
Mr Peter Romey A person with expertise in architecture (NSW)
Dr Stuart King Representing - Heritage conservation interests (North)
Dr Kathryn Evans Person with expertise in history (South)
Mr Alex van der Hek Representing - Community interests (South)
Ms Amanda Roberts Person representing the National Trust (South)
Mr Frazer Read Representing - Building development industry (South)
Ms Carol Bacon Person representing the mining industry with expertise in mining heritage (South)
Mr David Gatenby Person representing the Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association (North)
Ms Sarah Lebski Person representing the Tourism Council of Tasmania (North)
Rev Roger Hesketh Person representing the Tasmanian Council of Churches (North)
Ms Denise Gaughwin Person with expertise in archaeology (North)
Mr Robin McKendrick Person representing the Local Government Association of Tasmania (South)
Ms Danielle Grey Person with expertise in planning nominated by the Local Government Association of Tasmania (South)

Council Meetings

The Tasmanian Heritage Council holds monthly meetings. The Works Committee and Registration Committees (subcommittees of the Heritage Council) meet on an as needs basis.

For copies of meeting minutes please contact Heritage Tasmania on 1300 850 332, or email enquiries@heritage.tas.gov.au.

Scheduled Meeting Dates

17 February

16 March

20 April

18 May

15 June

20 July

17 August

21 September

19 October

16 November

21 December